Fresh churn in Bihar politics: Upendra Kushwaha's RLSP merges with Nitish's JDU

Video Credit: HT Digital Content
Published on March 14, 2021 - Duration: 06:20s

Fresh churn in Bihar politics: Upendra Kushwaha's RLSP merges with Nitish's JDU

In a fresh, albeit expected, twist in Bihar politics, Upendra Kushwaha-led Rashtriya Lok Samata Party announced a merger with ruling Janata Dal (United).

Subsequently, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar announced the appointment of Kushwaha as JD(U)'s national parliamentary board chief.

The latter had quit JD(U) in 2013 and formed the RLSP.

Kushwaha was part of the NDA during the 2014 Lok Sabha polls and was eventually made a Union minister.

However, he quit in 2018 due to differences in a seat sharing formula for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

He was also a part of the Opposition 'mahagathbandhan' in Bihar before exiting the alliance ahead of state elections in 2020.

Watch the full video for more.

You are here

๐Ÿ’ก newsR Knowledge: Other News Mentions

Rashtriya Lok Samta Party

Political party in India

Lok Sabha

Lower house of the Parliament of India
Congress President Sonia Gandhi on Friday chaired a meeting of all party MPs from the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha to assess the situation arising out of the second..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 17 hours ago

In the 1990s, regional parties chipped away at Congressโ€™s hold on power, with the United Front government marking the high point of the process, vastly..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 5 days ago

Yet, the "Man of the Match" sobriquent has often been bestowed upon Prashant Kishor for his role in winning for towering leaders across parties an election game...
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 6 days ago

National Democratic Alliance

Coalition of Bharatiya Janata Party and its alliances
Three states were set to beat anti-incumbency on Sunday with Mamata Banerjee emerging star of the day to lead her TMC to triumph in West Bengal for a third..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 6 days ago

Exit polls on Thursday predicted victories for the NDA in Assam, LDF in Kerala and the DMK-led front in Tamil Nadu, but disagreed on who would form the next..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 1 week ago

You might like