Turnout touches 64% in Phase 1 of Lok Sabha polls, against 66% in 2019

Credit: IndiaTimes- Published on April 19, 2024
Encouraging 63.5% turnout in the first phase of the 2024 general election across 102 Lok Sabha seats. Various states experienced unique voting incidents, and the Election Commission's efforts were evident in managing the process.

Video credit: Oneindia
Published on April 19, 2024 -  02:29
LS Polls Phase 1 Polling: West Bengal records highest turnout as polling ends | Oneindia News
Polling in 102 parliamentary seats across 21 states and Union Territories in the first phase of Lok Sabha Elections commenced at 7 am on April 19 and ended at 6 pm. Over 102 parliamentary constituencies in 21 states and union territories headed to the polling booth on Friday, including Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Jammu and Kashmir, Puducherry, Lakshadweep, and Andaman and Nicobar Islands. West Bengal recorded the highest turnout till 5 PM at 77.57 per cent, followed by Tripura at 76.10 per cent. Voter turnout in Assam stood at 70.77 per cent, while Manipur recorded a voter turnout of 68.58 per cent till 5 PM. #Phase1Voting #Phase1VotingEnds #ManipurPollViolence #ChhattisgarhPollViolence #LokSabhaElections2024 #Elections2024 ##loksabha2024electionkabhai #loksabha2024electionnews #loksabhaelection2024 #loksabhaelectionsexplained #loksabhaelection2024dateindiahindi #Oneindia #Oneindianews ~PR.152~ED.101~GR.125~HT.96~

You are here

💡 newsR Knowledge: Other News Mentions

Lok Sabha

Lower house of the Parliament of India
Earlier on Saturday, the Election Commission of India (ECI) said that a total of 889 candidates from eight States and Union Territories (UTs) will contest..
Credit: DNA - Published 2 hours ago

Union home minister Amit Shah anticipates BJP's Lok Sabha count surpassing 310, aiming for 400+ victories. Urges Odisha's backing for a BJP government...
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 20 hours ago

Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge announced INDIA bloc to select PM candidate after Lok Sabha election results on June 4. Alliance partners will decide the..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 20 hours ago

Election commission

Body which oversees elections
INDIA bloc leaders — Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, NCP (SP) chief Sharad Pawar and Shiv Sena (UBT) president Uddhav Thackeray — also called for a..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 4 days ago

Election Commission seeks detailed report from Odisha DGP to take strict action during Model Code of Conduct period. Exemplary action in Andhra Pradesh with..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 5 days ago

The Supreme Court on Friday sought the Election Commission's response to an appeal by the Association for Democratic Reforms, an NGO, expressing concern about..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 5 days ago

Trinamool Congress lodged a complaint with the Election Commission against BJP's Tamluk candidate Abhijit Gangopadhyay for misogynistic remarks towards Mamata..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 6 days ago

Related videos from verified sources

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Who’s Got the Upper Hand in Bengal…BJP or TMC?| Expert Talk 16:34
Credit: Oneindia - Published 2 days ago 

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Bollywood Leads the Way To Vote as Fifth Phase of Elections Open 03:52
Credit: Oneindia - Published 2 days ago 

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 5: BSP Leader Mayawati Votes, Foresees Change In Delhi | Watch! 03:01
Credit: Oneindia - Published 3 days ago 

Related news from verified sources

Chandrasekhar rallies for high voter turnout in Thiruvananthapuram's Lok Sabha polls phase 2, emphasizing the constituency's stagnant growth. He underlines the...
on April 26, 2024 • IndiaTimes

The nomination process for the third phase of Lok Sabha polls covering 94 constituencies in 12 states starts on May 7. A notification is issued for the adjourned...
on April 12, 2024 • IndiaTimes

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Thursday issued a notification for the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections, which will take place on May 13 in 102...
on April 18, 2024 • IndiaTimes

You might like