European Union

Political and economic union

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 27 member states that are located primarily in Europe. The union has a total area of 4,233,255.3 km2 (1,634,469.0 sq mi) and an estimated total population of about 447 million. An internal single market has been established through a standardised system of laws that apply in all member states in those matters, and only those matters, where the states have agreed to act as one. EU policies aim to ensure the free movement of people, goods, services and capital within the internal market; enact legislation in justice and home affairs; and maintain common policies on trade, agriculture, fisheries and regional development. Passport controls have been abolished for travel within the Schengen Area. A monetary union was established in 1999, coming into full force in 2002, and is composed of 19 member states which use the euro currency. The EU has often been described as a sui generis political entity with the characteristics of either a federation or confederation.

European Union News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets

This is the second vaccine approved for use on children in Europe. The first vaccine by Pfizer/BioNTech was approved in May.
Credit: DNA - Published 2 days ago

The president of the European Commission has told Boris Johnson that the bloc "will not renegotiate" a key component of the Brexit deal the two sides negotiated.
4 days ago • Sky News
Brexit minister Lord Frost has said the UK and the EU "cannot go on as we are" with the current Northern Ireland Protocol arrangements, but that "now is not the..
Credit: Sky News - Published 5 days ago

Dominic Raab has attacked the European Commission's proposals on how the UK and Spain should negotiate the future of Gibraltar.
5 days ago • Sky News
The Chinese government has been accused of "systematic cyber sabotage" in statements by the UK and allies, including the US, NATO, and the European Union.
1 week ago • Sky News
The European Union only recognises AstraZeneca manufactured vaccines as a certificate for COVID-19 travel
Credit: DNA - Published 1 week ago

Poonawalla last month said that he was 'taking this up at the highest levels with regulators and diplomats' and that he hoped to resolve this matter.
Credit: DNA - Published 1 week ago

The European Medicines Agency (EMA) said it has not received any application from the Covid-19 vaccine Covishield maker Serum Institute of India (SII) for..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 1 week ago

You might like