Union territory of India

Ladakh is a region administered by India as a union territory, and constituting a part of the larger Kashmir region, which has been the subject of dispute between India, Pakistan, and China since 1947. It is bordered by the Tibet Autonomous Region to the east, the Indian state of Himachal Pradesh to the south, both the Indian union territory of Jammu and Kashmir and the Pakistan-administered Gilgit-Baltistan to the west, and the southwest corner of Xinjiang across the Karakoram Pass in the far north. It extends from the Siachen Glacier in the Karakoram range to the north to the main Great Himalayas to the south. The eastern end, consisting of the uninhabited Aksai Chin plains, is claimed by the Indian Government as part of Ladakh, and has been under Chinese control since 1962. Until 2019, Ladakh was a region of the state of Jammu and Kashmir. In August 2019, the Parliament of India passed an act by which Ladakh became a union territory on 31 October 2019.

Ladakh News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets

The world map on the new 20 Riyal banknote, released to mark Saudi Arabia's presidency of the G20 grouping, does not feature J&K and Ladakh.
Credit: DNA - Published 4 days ago

BJP has said there is no “contradiction” between its attack on Congress for being part of the “anti-national” Gupkar Alliance while running the Ladakh..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 4 days ago

Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 5 days ago

Though primarily meant to keep a hawk-eye on the Indian Ocean Region, India has been extensively using the P-8Is to track movements and build-ups of Chinese..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 6 days ago

"Twitter's deposition has come in form of an affidavit signed by Damien Karien, Chief Privacy Officer of Twitter Inc, for wrong geo-tagging of India's map,"..
Credit: DNA - Published 6 days ago

Social media giant Twitter has apologised in writing to a key parliamentary panel for wrongly showing Ladakh in China and has promised to correct the error by..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 6 days ago

Jin Canrong, a professor of international relations at the Beijing-based Renmin University, claimed during a lecture that Chinese troops turned two strategic..
Credit: DNA - Published 6 days ago

The leaders of the Brics nation are will come together virtually to discuss cooperation prospects and international issues during the 12th Brics summit on..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 1 week ago

The Supreme Court Monday said it should not interfere in postings, particularly in the Armed forces, as somebody has to go and serve in places like Ladakh,..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 1 week ago

In October, the ITBP had shared the clip on its official Twitter handle after which it went viral. The video had captured the young kid saluting the troops.
Credit: DNA - Published 1 week ago

You might like