Central Asia

Region of the Asian continent

Central Asia is a region which stretches from the Caspian Sea in the west to China in the east, and from Afghanistan and Iran in the south to Russia in the north. The region consists of the former Soviet republics of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. It is also colloquially referred to as "the stans" as the countries generally considered to be within the region all have names ending with the Persian suffix "-stan", meaning "land of". Depending on different interpretations, Afghanistan and Mongolia are sometimes also considered part of the region.

Central Asia News and Videos   LIVE

โ„น๏ธ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets
Tajikistan has suspended flights to and from Iran due to the spread of the new coronavirus there, the Central Asian nationโ€™s government said on Monday.
Credit: Reuters - Published 2 days ago

Kazakh police detained dozens of opposition supporters who staged public protests against the government of the Central Asian nation on Saturday.
Credit: Reuters - Published 4 days ago

A Chinese company has pulled out of a $280 million project to build a logistics center in Kyrgyzstan after protests by hundreds of locals in a fresh display of..
Credit: Reuters - Published 1 week ago

You might like