Government of India

Legislative, executive and judiciary authority of India

The Government of India, known as the Union Government or Central Government but often simply as the Centre, is the national authority of the Republic of India, a federal democracy located in South Asia, consisting of 28 union states and eight union territories. Under the Constitution, there are three primary branches of government: the legislative, the executive and the judiciary, whose powers are vested in a bicameral Parliament, President, aided by the Council of Ministers, and the Supreme Court respectively. Through judicial evolution, the Parliament has lost its sovereignty as its amendments to the Constitution are subject to judicial intervention. Judicial appointments in India are unique in that the executive or legislature have negligible say.

Government of India News and Videos   LIVE

ℹī¸ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets
Olympic medallists Bajrang Punia and Sakshi Malik met Union Sports Minister Anurag Thakur three days after Union Home Minister Amit Shah met them and discussed..
Credit: DNA - Published 2 days ago

World leaders, including Russian President Vladimir Putin, British Prime Minister Rishi Sunak and Japanese Prime Minister Fumio Kishida, expressed their..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 6 days ago

Home minister Amit Shah on Thursday announced a judicial probe into the ethnic violence that has rocked Manipur, the creation of a unified command for overseeing..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 1 week ago

Brij Bhushan Singh, meanwhile, responded to the protesting wrestlers' allegations and said that he would 'hang' himself if allegations against him are proven.
Credit: DNA - Published 1 week ago

You might like