Member of parliament

Representative of the voters to a parliament

A Member of Parliament (MP) is the representative in parliament of the people who live in their electoral district. In many countries with bicameral parliaments, this term refers only to members of the lower house and upper house members. The terms congressman/congresswoman are equivalent terms used in other jurisdictions. The term parliamentarian is always used for Members of Parliament, but this is always used to refer to elected government leaders such as Senator in the United States. The term is also used to the characteristic of performing the duties of a member of a legislature, for example: "The two party leaders often disagreed on issues, but both were excellent parliamentarians and cooperated to get many good things done."

Member of parliament News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets

MPs are calling for tougher legislation to protect young social media influencers - and their followers - from exploitation.
1 week ago • Sky News

You might like