State in northern India

Uttarakhand, formerly known as Uttaranchal, is a state in the northern part of India. It is often referred to as the "Devabhumi" due to numerous Hindu temples and pilgrimage centres found throughout the state. Uttarakhand is known for the natural environment of the Himalayas, the Bhabar and the Terai regions. It borders the Tibet Autonomous Region of China to the north; the Sudurpashchim Pradesh of Nepal to the east; the Indian states of Uttar Pradesh to the south and Himachal Pradesh to the west and north-west. The state is divided into two divisions, Garhwal and Kumaon with a total of 13 districts. The winter capital of Uttarakhand is Dehradun, the largest city of the state, which is a rail head. Gairsain, a town in Chamoli district is the summer capital of Uttarakhand. The High Court of the state is located in Nainital.

Uttarakhand News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets
The Uttarakhand government on Wednesday (April 21) modified the night curfew timings for all 13 districts in the state. The new timings are 7 pm to 5
Credit: DNA - Published 7 hours ago

The Uttarakhand government has said that except for ministers and staff, entry of people will be restricted to the state secretariat.
Credit: DNA - Published 5 days ago

Sixteen states and UTs -- Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Haryana, Rajasthan, Punjab, Kerala, Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat,..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 5 days ago

Meanwhile, the Uttarakhand government also allowed marriage gatherings with up to 200 people outside containment zones in the state.
Credit: DNA - Published 1 week ago

You might like