Member of the Legislative Assembly (India)

Member of a state government of India

A Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) is a representative elected by the voters of an electoral district (constituency) to the legislature of State government in the Indian system of government. From each constituency, the people elect one representative who then becomes a member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA). Each state has between seven and nine MLAs for every Member of Parliament (MP) that it has in the Lok Sabha, the lower house of India's bicameral parliament. There are also members in three unicameral legislatures in Union Territories: the Delhi Legislative Assembly, Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly and Puducherry Legislative Assembly.

Member of the Legislative Assembly (India) News and Videos   LIVE

ℹī¸ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets
PM Modi was also invited to the swearing-in ceremony of Kejriwal, besides BJP MPs and MLAs from Delhi. Modi, however, could not attend.
Credit: DNA - Published 3 days ago

Senior Assam Congress leaders, including former chief minister Tarun Gogoi on Saturday urged President Ram Nath Kovind to take steps to ensure protection and..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 4 days ago

Earlier, newly-elected MLAs elected Kejriwal the leader of the legislature party on Wednesday.
Credit: DNA - Published 1 week ago

Delhi minister Gopal Rai is the sitting MLA from Babarpur assembly constituency.
Credit: DNA - Published 1 week ago

You might like