Rajya Sabha

Upper house of the Parliament of India

Rajya Sabha (Under CC License)

The Rajya Sabha or Council of States is the upper house of the Parliament of India, the other being Lok Sabha or the House of the People. Membership of Rajya Sabha is limited by the Constitution to a maximum of 250 members and current laws have provision for 245 members. Most of the members of the House are elected by the legislatures of the various states and union territories using single transferable votes through Open Ballot. The President can appoint 12 members for their contributions to art, literature, science, and social services. Members sit for staggered terms lasting six years, with a third of the members up for election every two years.

Rajya Sabha News and Videos   LIVE

โ„น๏ธ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets

You might like