Uttarakhand lockdown: COVID curfew extended till June 29 with relaxations - Check details

Credit: DNA- Published on June 20, 2021
Uttarakhand government on Sunday announced the extension of the COVID-19 curfew from June 22 to June 29 with certain relaxations.

Video credit: TomoNews US
Published on June 23, 2021 -  02:04
EU to Roll Out COVID Vaccination ‘Passport’
STRASBOURG, FRANCE — The European Parliament voted on 9 June to approve the use of digital COVID certificates to travel within the EU, and it’s now up to member states to choose which rules they’ll apply. Currently, travellers need to undergo COVID testing and quarantine almost every time they cross a border within the EU. Ideally, the certificate would allow carriers to simply scan and go, rather than test and wait. Here are the details: CNN reports that the EU has voted to approve the EU Digital Covid Certificate, which should allow easier movement between EU countries. The scheme is scheduled to start on July 1. The certificate is touted as a way to make travel within Europe much easier. Currently, if you travel between two EU countries you'll have to meet each of their individual rules for entry — which might mean daily testing if you're driving through or taking the train around the continent. The certificate will log three things: the holder’s vaccination record, negative tests, and a record of previous infection. In participating countries, the certificate should allow carriers to simply scan and go. It should eventually be valid in all EU member states, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. Switzerland is also looking likely. Travellers can choose a paper or digital certificate, and EU countries are urged to not add extra requirements for entry, although it is conceded that in some cases, countries might still require additional testing. Only vaccines approved for use in the EU will count — so Sinovac or Sputnik V, for example, wouldn't count. At least, that’s the bloc-wide rule, but individual countries can tweak the rules. Currently, the EU has approved vaccines from AstraZeneca, Pfizer/BioNTech, Moderna, and Johnson & Johnson. As of June 8, there were only nine EU states signed up. Those being Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Lithuania, Poland and Spain. CNN says it expects the other 18 nations to join soon. So far, eligibility is for EU citizens and their families, plus legal residents. However, an EU spokesperson told CNN that the EU expects to open the scheme up to non-citizens — including Americans.

You are here

💡 newsR Knowledge: Other News Mentions


State in northern India
The curfew imposed in Uttarakhand, to check the spread of COVID-19, will remain in effect in the state till August 10
Credit: DNA - Published 2 days ago

The Uttarakhand government will set up a committee to look into the feasibility of rolling out a population control bill on the lines of other BJP-ruled states..
Credit: IndiaTimes - Published 4 days ago

With only 43 new cases in the last 24 hours, the number of active cases in Uttarakhand currently stands at 659.
Credit: DNA - Published 1 week ago

Related videos from verified sources

Dr. Fauci Says Varying Vaccination Rates Could Divide Country Into ‘Two Americas’ 01:15
Credit: Wibbitz Top Stories - Published on July 1, 2021 

Daily politics briefing: June 29 00:47
Credit: PA - Press Association STUDIO - Published on June 29, 2021 

COVID's Dangerous Delta Variant Enters Australia 02:05
Credit: TomoNews US - Published on June 29, 2021 

You might like