British Overseas Territories

Territories under the jurisdiction and sovereignty of the United Kingdom

The British Overseas Territories (BOTs), also known as United Kingdom Overseas Territories (UKOTs), are fourteen territories all with a constitutional and historical link with the United Kingdom. They are remnants of the British Empire and do not form part of the United Kingdom itself. Some of the permanently inhabited territories are internally self-governing, with the UK retaining responsibility for defence and foreign relations. Ten of the territories are listed by the UN Special Committee on Decolonization as non-self-governing territories. Three are inhabited only by a transitory population of military or scientific personnel. They all have the British monarch as head of state.

British Overseas Territories News and Videos   LIVE

ℹī¸ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets

You might like